The Correction Bug

In my family, we have this beautiful, horrible thing called “the correction bug”. Allow me to explain with an exemplar story.

My brother is talking to me and he says, “you do that really good.”

“Well,” I correct him.

Later, we’re talking about a movie line. “Nobody kissed me, did they?

“Actually, it’s please tell me nobody kissed me.”

There is nothing more annoying than the correction bug when you’re on the receiving end, so we have worked hard to rein it in instead of letting it roam free. When someone gets on a roll correcting someone else, either they or the person they are correcting will slap their wrist/arm/shoulder/leg and say “correction bug” to remind that person that it isn’t always wise to correct other people.

Writers tend to get this way when reading other people’s work. We see a tiny mistake and we pick it apart. This can be both good and destructive. We have to be careful to not harm another writer’s feelings or resolve by picking apart everything they just did. On the other hand, it’s good to know that there is the possibility for you to be able to pick apart your own work and make it better.

Another fun part of the correction bug is that you can read or watch something and pick out what you like and how you would have done it. This is fodder for future works. Write it down. If you find yourself saying, “I would have…” then write down how you would have done it. There’s no telling when it will come in handy.

The correction bug is also good for first draft edits. You sit down, you read your work, and you tear it to pieces to fix it. It’s brutal work, and it hurts, but it is necessary. So, correct correct correct! (Anyone else have a flashback to Charlotte’s web here? “Double T, double E, double R, double I, double F, double I, double C”. I love that goose.)

Unfortunately for us, correction is a part of writing. Grammar, plotline, misspellings. I, for one, hate having to cut up the good work I’ve already done. It’s like tearing out my own heart and soul.

So, how do we deal with this?

Well, my first instinct is to sit down — just me — with a giant bundt cake and a fork. Unfortunately, if I did that every time I had to edit, I would be very, very fat. So I set up a reward program for myself (or, at least, I would like to). Here’s the general idea.

Edit first ten pages = piece of chocolate for me.

Edit first half of book = piece of cake/cheesecake or a giant cookie.

Edit all grammar and misspellings = a piece of jewelry for me.

COMPLETELY edit entire manuscript, grammar, spelling, punctuation, and fix all plot holes = BRAND NEW PAIR OF SHOES!!!

I’m not quite there yet, but I do reward myself with varying desserts and it seems to get me over the hump. Editing isn’t quite so menacing anymore. In fact, sometimes I actually (gulp) enjoy it.

So, even though the correction bug can be a bad thing when used too much, it can be a good thing for our writing. Keep it in its container until the time is right to let it out. (Kind of like those caterpillars you used to catch that never actually made it to butterfly stage).

.

.

Need help editing or have questions about how it should be done? Comment or contact me! I’m giving out free advice this week.

.

.

.

Did you like what you read today? Do you have questions, comments, or cat-killing curiosity about something? If so, please either comment on this post or visit the Contact page and drop me a note!

It was good to have you as a visitor today! Please drop by again, or become family by following the Write Knowledge. Thank You.

One thought on “The Correction Bug

  1. Megan, I must confess my sister Jessie and I are both guilty of succumbing from time to time to the devices of the correction bug. Each year when we receive Christmas letters, we carefully scrutinize each one received for every minute little . . . gasp. . .error!!! We are especially vigilant when reviewing each other’s.

    My publisher, Booktrope, makes each book go through editing AND proofreading. As a former medical transcription proofer, editor, and auditor, I would’ve thought I would already have a pretty good grasp of the English language. Not the case.

    My manuscript came back from editing heavily marked up and with several suggestions for removal of text. One portion was one of my favorite parts of the book, the funny part because she thought it interrupted the flow too much. I think I’m probably going to post that editing floor castoff as a blog entry at some point.

    After a couple weeks in editing, then it was on to the proofer. Again, after a few days I received it back full of potential corrections which I could either accept or reject. At one spot, she even reversed what the editor had changed back to what I had written originally!

    But I’m glad I had these girls in my corner to catch all this stuff. In reality, it’s not so bad to have the correction bug.

    God bless you, sister.

    PS Please feel free to the let the correction bug loose on this comment. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

